The most wonderful realisation

Recently, I wrote about my weird feelings of wanting to be ‘everything, everyone, everywhere’. I was scared of missing out on something. I felt that words, experiences, stories  were slipping out of my reach all the time.

There was a feeling of panic. I remember the anxiety on being told that books were going to be published electronically. I thought it was because I preferred the feel and smell of real pages.  It’s only now that I realise what generated that unease.  If you make it too easy to print, there will be too much printed.  And I won’t have time to read it all.

And I want to read it all.

Anyway, the panic has been replaced with peace – just now.  Because, I had an epiphany a moment ago (Black Sheep triggered it – thank you) that we are in fact, despite feelings to the contrary, ‘everything, everyone, everywhere.’

Not consciously, of course, we’d all be blowing fuses in the mind if that happened.  But unconsciously.  When you consider how little we use of our brain (less than 10%, is it?) it’s not an impossible idea.

Where do I end? Where’s the final edge?  At my skin?  I think not. There’s energy beyond that. We are all bigger than the bodies we sit in.  If I am my awareness, and I am aware of something, then isn’t that part of me?  If only for a moment. If only in a microscopic way? Perhaps we bloggers are all chips of colour, making up one large mosaic, creating a beautiful and profound design that can only be appreciated from far away.

It brings me comfort that thought. On some level, imagining that I’m connected to it all, even those intellectual posts in ‘politics’, the poignant photos in ‘art’, the witty words in ‘blogging’, and the odd sad post in ‘life’ that remains un-read.

7 Comments

Filed under authors, books, editors, fiction, life, philosophy, Reading, Writing

7 responses to “The most wonderful realisation

  1. Lua

    I share your anxiety about missing out on things, letting life slip away or never having enough time to do “everything” or be “everywhere”…
    But I like your new perspective, it is possible that on an unconscious level, we are “everywhere, everyone and everything” 🙂

  2. Thank you Lua. Glad you came to visit. 🙂

  3. I relate to your words. I go through moments when I am terrified of not getting to really live at all. But then I stop myself. Because worrying about not living equates exactly to those fears. Thank you for the comforting thoughts on the matter.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Brownpaperbaggirl (I love that name btw). You’re right about worrying and how it equates to those fears. They expand, don’t they? Best to fill up on gratitude and appreciation. And worry is such a waste of time 🙂

  4. I’m happy to hear that you made the connection that we are everything. We are bits of God and that means that we have the same universal knowledge of the whole, although most of us don’t realize. And because each of our experiences goes into a large’databank’ then what one experiences, we all do. For when more people realize the true meaning of ‘Do unto others, as you would have them do onto you’, that would truly change our world.
    Great Blog.

    • You are one smart lady, Leticia. I believe you are absolutely spot on. We are so much more than these little bodies. I love the concept of a large ‘databank’. I think it explains the phenomenon of people sharing thoughts, creative ideas and experiences (both good and bad).
      ‘Do unto others…’ Yes, very good belief to live by. In fact what we do to others we also do to ourselves.
      Lovely to have your light shining over here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

