Is a book like a baby?

Books and babies can both be difficult to put down. They demand your attention when you have other things that need doing. They invoke a feeling of fierce loyalty when someone criticizes one you cherish.

An uncommon romance

And writing a book is a bit like being pregnant; morning sickness (nausea; when you discover that the words you wrote yesterday are not as brilliant as you suspected).ย  Fluid retention from sitting on your backside for hours and days at a time. Cravings for food, coffee, substances in an attempt to get the brain working.ย  And tiredness. Because using the brain and imagination can take up a lot of energy.

Then, the advance copy finally arrives in the mail; the moment you’ve been waiting for.

Holding the book in your hands after all the writing, stressing, rejections, stressing, re-writing, stressing, acceptance….stressing, editing, proofing, acknowledgments, stressing, photos, cover, is sheer heaven, and it’s quite likely that the baby won’t leave your hands for the rest of the day.

But tomorrow TODAY!! my baby is stepping out into the real world. Its first day of school. In the world of books. It will find its place on the shelves in the ‘R’ section. And I hope the other books will shuffle over a little to give it a place. I hope they are kind, because it’s still a bit wet behind the ears.

Hopefully, it will be read, and people will like it, although they might not, and that’s as it should be, because we all have such different tastes and I do respect diversity of opinion.

Yet, ultimately, we have to let our children go, out into the big wide world, no matter how scary that is, no matter how much we fear for them. And perhaps it’s scarier for mum than baby anyway. I do recall that I was the one who cried when my real child went to school for the first time; he, however, did not even look back. Sigh.

Not to worry, I think I’m pregnant again.

20 Comments

Filed under authors, book launch, books, champagne, editors, fiction, launches, Reading, reviews, Writing

20 responses to “Is a book like a baby?

  1. I LOVE this post! I agree with it 100% and it is very well written. I hope to one day also experience the trepidation of sending a novel into the world. Good luck on the send off of your paper child…and the new pregnancy ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thank you! And I have no doubt youโ€™ll be sending your โ€˜paper childโ€™ (I love that term) off into the book world soon too.
      Youโ€™ve got what it takes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congratulations on being published! That’s incredibly exciting, and your description of writing is spot on! I want to read your book now… You even got the strange cravings part of it too, haha. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Ollin, thanks for coming to visit and for your kind wishes too. I think you might be a writer also if you understand the cravings ๐Ÿ™‚ Am I right?

  3. Lisa, I am glad I found your blog. You put your writing together with sheer genius and you write from the heart. I am not a writer by profession, I do it for fun and therefore I also read for fun. Your blog is my ideal. Thank you very much. Oh and congs on the 2nd ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi arthur’scount. Thanks for your sweet words. As you know, I’m a huge fan of your blog! (although it still brings a tear to my eye to recall your mothers’ day stats.) Nevertheless, I’m counting on your wonderful blog to keep me informed!
      x
      Lisa

  4. Lua

    OHM Congratulations!!! This is exciting beyond words ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish all the best for your book and hope that itโ€™ll be loved and read by many! Donโ€™ worry, as far as I can tell, your baby will do just fine on its own.
    I always thought writing a book was pretty much like being pregnant (I canโ€™t really know since Iโ€™ve never really been pregnant but I can draw the parallels).
    Canโ€™t wait to read your baby! I meanโ€ฆ book ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Dear Lisa,
    What a huge and amazing day!
    Your book, like any baby, is a part of you, and you are a part of it, so I am sure that you are sending it out into the world with everything it needs to be a great success; in this case, beautiful writing, wonderful characters and a happy ending!
    I am sure also that the world will embrace your book, and that it will be much-loved and much-read. I can’t wait to read it myself.
    Dream tonight of books being lovingly unpacked from boxes and stacked on shelves, and readers queueing around the block just waiting for bookshops to open in the morning.
    xxx
    Andrew

    • Thank you Andrew. I’m having happy days and happy dreams, but fear a little too much ‘wild abandon’ is creeping into my body and mind (my soul, of course, has always been a sucker for wild abandon.)
      xxx
      Lisa

  6. Your analogy is right on! I love it! Best of luck to you and your “baby.”

    • Thanks Desiree, it’s great to have you here. And I really appreciate your well wishes. I had a look at your writing courses; they look fantastic. Although I adore Australia, there are times when I wish I was a bit closer to some of the other opportunities in other places. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. Congratulations!!! How awesome is that?!?!

    I know it’s difficult, but baby got hard back and it will be just fine. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. That is absolutely amazing! Congrats! I hope you held some sort of celebration to celebrate all your hard work and dedication to that book. Our creations truly are like babies. A great parallel.

    • Thanks brownpaperbaggirl. I’m with you; it’s so important to celebrate each step along the way. And I intend to dedicate this Saturday to some very serious celebrating at the book launch. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Sometimes I think men write books because they can’t be creative enough to have a baby.

    Dr. B

    • Hi Dr Tom, thanks so much for dropping by. Men are creative too. Although women carry the child, it would never come into creation without the help of a man. It takes two to…well…you know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Wow…never think about it, but they do are alike. Thanks for the perspective.

Leave a Reply

