Should I be me or pretend to be someone better?

Milk Fever tiptoed into the book stores on Tuesday, and I thought long and hard about what image (or brand) I needed to project as a writer (many people have told me I need an image).

Right, an image.  I should probably try to look intellectual. [No more pink; my favourite colour].  Perhaps I should dye my blonde hair too?  My best friend claims to feel smarter now that she is a brunette.  Or do people just treat her differently? Not sure. I might experiment with that one.

My biggest fear is that I will say something ridiculous.  I am a blurter, you see.  I say whatever thought drops into my head in the moment, without censoring. I was born without the censoring chip.

Well, here is the list so far:

1. Dye blonde hair dark, people will assume I’m an intellectual.

2. Glasses?

3. Wear black more often, ditch the pink stuff.  Fortunately, I have a sleek looking black dress for the launch, although that leads me to number 4…

4. Observe a strict two glass limit on champagne in order to lessen blurting tendency. [I’m quite likely to blurt out things like, I love you, I don’t want to, Let’s go for it, That looks horrible etc. These are the mild ones.]

5. Do not engage in political conversations with anyone, ever, because this is an area where I can really show my ignorance. Stick to the weather.

6. Do not do a book reading when nervous, because nerves can make me dyslexic.

It’s not an inspiring list. I don’t feel like doing a happy dance when I read it. Although, it will probably keep me out of trouble. It’s what a lot of authors are, naturally, without trying.

Let’s see how I go.

15 Comments

Filed under authors, blogging, book launch, books, champagne, editors, fiction, launches, life, philosophy, Reading, reviews, weird stuff, Writing

15 responses to “Should I be me or pretend to be someone better?

  1. Personally, I think you should be who you normally are; pink clothes, blonde hair, no glasses etc. because you will be more comfortable with yourself. If you say something embarrassing, play it off as a big joke and everyone will think you’re witty. The alcohol restriction may be a good idea though 🙂

    P.S. I have dark hair…and glasses; neither one does anything for the intellectual aura.

    Good luck!!

    • Come now, I know you’re smart!! But you’re right, thank you, and yes, I love the idea of turning my faux pas into a joke. Excellent idea. You see, do have an intellectual aura!!

  2. I would suggest learning how to make yourself “approachable”… i.e. happy demeanor, eye contact with the person you are speaking too, smiling. Most importantly—have self confidence! 🙂 You’ve written a book! By yourself! You have done what not even 1% of the world’s population could do—and you published it too! It’s very empowering when you think about it.
    Also, I’ve done research based on hairstyle and makeup differences in the workplace… Curly hair makes you more approachable and easier to like, while with straight hair you are seen as a more business-like person. Curly hair: happy/approachable. Straight hair: serious/business.

    Just be you! People will love you just the way you are! 🙂

    • Is that right? Curly hair = approachable. Straight hair = serious.
      I can believe it. Curly hair makes me think of giggles. It’s so bouncy and happy.
      Thanks for ideas. I’d prefer to look – and be – approachable, rather than intellectual.
      You’re another smart cookie!
      🙂

  3. Lua

    Hmm, I know it is going to sound like a terrible cliché (well, actually it is a cliché) but I say; be your self! Your true self; wear pink, stay blond and no glasses! Blurt out, say whatever you want because who you are trying to become- there are a LOT of those people around but there is only one true you… You are unique and if you try and kill it, become someone you’re not, your readers will see right through that…
    You are already an amazing person; funny, intelligent and talented! I say burn the list and let people see who you really are 🙂 I’m sure everything will turn out just fine!

  4. Lua, it’s interesting that your advice is what I would tell a friend if she was in my shoes. “Just be yourself.” I say it all the time.
    Perhaps it’s time to say it to myself.
    Okay, time to burn the list.
    Thank you.
    🙂

  5. The best possible person you could be is yourself, and hope that book becomes a best seller.
    Take care, Gillian

  6. Sorry I’m late, but… did you do all this? As a natural brunette with glasses, I think you should stick with your natural look. As a person who hates black (or any other dark color for that matter), I’d stick to pink (or even red or yellow). Having read the beginning of a novel at a writing course once, I know I can’t do it again – I’m too nervous and go too fast, so I’ll avoid all public readings from now on! 😦
    You’ll sell more copies of your book soon, I’ll buy mine in the course of the summer (as soon as the already existing pile of books-to-read-and-review goes down a little)! 😀

    • Hi Barb, great to have you back again – you haven’t missed much. And yes, I went as me. It worked well.
      But I didn’t do a reading. I was confident, but not that confident!

Leave a Reply

