If you were stranded on a desert island….

Right now, I’m dreaming about being stuck on a desert island, not because I want to get away from society, I’m happy for society to come right along with me, but because of this rain, rain and more rain.  And cold weather. Two weeks into winter and I’ve had enough. I want warmth and sunshine.  Far North Queensland is starting to look like heaven right now. Palm trees

Anyway, let’s imagine for a moment that your normal life has dissolved into vapours, and you find yourself lying on a beach in paradise. You don’t need to worry about getting sunburnt, losing your passport, or Bali Belly.

Footprints at coastal sand

Nope this island is perfect in every way. 

You have a beautiful beach house, overlooking azure oceans, perhaps the odd dolphin jumping around in the waves. The scent of tropical flowers and sea breezes; warm sea breezes. There is a master chef on hand, who is not only very good-looking, but cooks all of your favourite meals (which do NOT make you put on weight, just in case you started worrying about that} You have fresh water, happiness and sunshine, and any companionship your heart desires.  There is just one little snag…

You’re only allowed to take one book with you.

biblical pages

Ah. Agony.  One book.

Which one would you take?

[Note: smart bloggers have already enquired about a time limit. And rightly so. It makes a huge difference, doesn’t it? You’d probably take a different book if you knew you were on this island for the rest of your life, compared to one week, right?  War and Peace as opposed to Breathe.

So, I’ve decided on a two or three week stay. Hopefully, that’s enough time for you to relax, unwind, dance, swim and play, and finish your favourite book.]

33 Comments

Filed under authors, blogging, books, fiction, I should be editing right now, Reading, writers, Writing

33 responses to “If you were stranded on a desert island….

  1. It would have to be the Bible. It has the most variety and is most open to interpretation and continual study. The Bible is a book you can read starting at any point, reading as quickly or slowly as you desire, and always find something new along the way. And a good Bible version has all kinds of cross-references and footnotes that allows for extensive study.

    I wouldn’t mind some rain where I am. Los Angeles usually has pretty good temperatures, but I’d prefer it never get hotter than 79 Fahrenheit– which I guess is maybe 26 degrees where you are.
    And the chef sounds good. Do we have electricity with a supply of CDs and DVDs and the equipment to play them on? And internet access? And satellite TV? Sounding less and less like a desert island I guess. But you said it was perfect in every way.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • Lee, you are in luck, not only does your room have electricity, but it also has a bible in the bedside table, like all good hotels do on desert islands. So, that means you get to chose another book!
      Sorry, kiddo, but no CD’s (although there is a rather good calypso band playing most nights by the water’s edge}, no DVD’s and definitely no internet.
      I’m willing to swap weather with you. :-}

      • If I would already have a Bible in the room, then I’m going to go with the complete works of William Shakespeare for the same reasons I chose the Bible. WS is a hefty tome with a lot of variety.

        But wait only 2 or 3 weeks– what kind of stranding is that? Okay I’ll grab one that’s on my current to read stack: New York by Edward Rutherfurd. With the gourmet chef and the lovely surroundings I’m probably not going to read much anyway.

        Lee
        Tossing It Out

  2. ”How to wean yourself off blogging” by Lisa Reece-Lane.
    If that was sold out (her books often are), Ulysses. For surprisingly similar reasons to our biblical friend.

    • Alright, I admit it, I have a little blogging addiction, smarty pants!
      You know, I was thinking along Ulysses lines too.
      Perhaps I should have specified a length of time spent on this island?
      Let us not judge on size alone.

  3. Something really looooooooong. But not boring. Depends on how long this prospective island stay would be. 🙂 Most likely, Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt or East by Edith Pattou. Does a series count? If so, Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl.

    • There are smart people out there; you are definitely one of them, Rose.
      I forgot all about time limit and it’s an important factor.
      I’m just going to add one now, which will make some of you look like you didn’t read the post properly (apologies in advance}.
      x Lisa

  4. That is a terribly unfair question. I don’t even leave the house without at least two books in my bag. One book. Redemption of Althalus by David Eddings. I love Eddings and this is one of his few stand alone books but it has multiple parts so it feels like multiple books in one.

    I like the suggestion of Tuck Everlasting though. Awesome book.

    • Sorry, I know. I didn’t think this through properly.
      I couldn’t even answer, as I tend to read a couple of books at a time and have so many favourites.
      But I will go and check out the Eddings book. It must be a good one if it’s got your vote.

  5. For life I’d take ‘Gone With the Wind.’ For three weeks? ‘Wuthering Heights.’ (Because I’ve been meaning to read it and haven’t had the time.)

    I’m in America – it’s just touching summer here. Sorry to hear you’re in winter. 😦 That’s the unlucky hemisphere, wherever the temp falls, I reckon.

    – Corra

    the victorian heroine

  6. Oh – Tuck Everlasting is a book? Good grief!! I’m soooo adding that to Goodreads! :):)

  7. You inspired me to write about how our dreams can become self-fulfilling prophesies:

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/06/11/self-fulfilling-prophesies/

  8. The complete works of Jane Austen, perhaps.

    I’m not really sure . . . since I’d rather spend my 3 weeks exploring the island, rather than reading.

  9. Pingback: Self-Fulfilling Prophesies « Spirit Lights The Way

  10. agatha82

    One book, that’s a tough one…I think for me, it would be Douglas Adams’ The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy because it always makes me smile no matter how often I read it.

    • Good choice. You’d be eating lovely meals, working on a tan, even have a massage if you like, I forgot to mention that earlier… and have a good laugh too. With Adams you’re guaranteed a happy holiday.

  11. One book? Ah, the agony! I’d take “Wuthering Heights.” Nothing like a bit of gloom and doom while on holiday 😉

    • You funny thing. “Gloom and doom” on this holiday? No way, kiddo. You’ll have the time of your life!
      Although, perhaps you might like a storm at the beach one night? You could look intense and brooding and enjoy the drama unfolding overhead.
      :- ]

      Oh, how I wish my right bracket worked.

  12. Lua

    Hmm to read on the beach? It has to be something romantic but not boring, something to make me close my eyes from time to time and wish I was the heroine of that book! 🙂
    So I guess it would have to be a book by no other that Miss. Jane Austen! 🙂

  13. I hate to bare my non English major roots, but I think it would be, The Stand, by Stephen King. The battle of good and evil at the end of the world gets me every time. 🙂

    Hope the rain goes away.

  14. ARGH!!! Cruel person, you.

    I would have to think about it. I’m generally a picky reader, although Emma has intrigued me (the 2009 BBC production was tops!!!). Three weeks is a long time and the way I read, I would probably burn through a book in a few days if I had nothing else to do.

    And I’ve already read the Westing Game too many times for now.

    A complicated question, one with few answers that are both pleasant AND obvious. 🙂

    • I don’t think I’ve seen the 2009 BBC version of Emma. How is that possible? Surely I’ve seen them all. Must admit, it’s very exciting news. Will go and track it down. Have you seen the latest Persuasion? Simply breathtaking. I could watch it over and over.

  15. I saw Persuasion although I liked Emma a hundred times better. Google it. The whole thing is on youtube. All four or so hours of pure enjoyment. (Let’s not swamp it though, else they may take it off!!!! For Emma-lovers only!!! :-D)

Leave a Reply

