When your heart is breaking…write

Oh, how I envy those poets. Those men and women who can juggle a few words in their head and then put them onto the page (or screen) in an way that carries meaning.

How do they do that?

When my heart is breaking, or doing anything else out of the ordinary, besides beating, I write.

Even when I have nothing to say. When the words elude me. It’s healthier than drinking. It’s cheaper than therapy. Even emptiness can sometimes bear fruit.

I wish, with a passion, that I could write poetry, because I think it’s such a good pain vessel; almost specifically designed for the task.

But my poetry would turn out something like this:

Ow.

And really what good is a one word poem?

How much of your heart finds its way onto the page?

Do your character express your emotional experiences? Do words help you make sense of life?

I’m sending love and gratitude to all the poets out there for expressing the inexpressible.

X Lisa

31 Comments

Filed under blogging, fiction, life, Reading, red wine, romance, weird stuff, writers, Writing

31 responses to “When your heart is breaking…write

  1. hehehe…

    why don’t you just write anything that comes in your mind… that doesn’t have to be a poem… maybe youre good at making stories or comedy phrases or making entertaining essays…

    and i agree with you… when your heart your heart is breaking…. it helps to… write…

  2. I hear you… heart break either requires therapy (actual and or the drowning sorrows in wine or chocolate type) and/or writing until you have said everything that needs to be said + a little bit more.

  3. What you say is so true, Lisa! I am in awe of poets, too, not being blessed with even one poetic bone myself. Writing does help me come out of my not-so-cheery moods at times, but I realize (thanks to your questions in this post) that some of my more memorable – as in enjoyable and good – experiences make their way into my stories, but not my darker ones!

    Thanks for a thoghtful post!

    • That’s interesting. So your darker experiences don’t make their way into your writing? But perhaps the emotion behind it does?

      I must admit, I’ve never been able to write a journal or diary and put intimate feelings down on paper, but I don’t have a problem letting characters express them. I don’t think they mind…

  4. I write a lot during the most emotional moments in my life. A lot of my writing is a product of that. By choice of expression I write poetry. Though I still envy other poets who at some point are still able to describe emotions in ways I can never describe them.
    And yes, words to all writers, poets or prose writers, help soothe a lot of knots. Hadn’t it been for words where would that leave us?

  5. junebugger

    Your post resonated the one I posted recently. I too strongly believe that when our heart is breaking we should write. Writing becomes my escape. And the hardship my heart is going through inspires beautiful words. More so than when I am living an uneventful life.

    • junebugger

      But not poetry. haha. I meant in regards to prose. I am an ex-poet…was one ever since I entered a poetry contest online, went nuts when I thought I’d won, but learned it was all a sham. And that my poem wasn’t at all that great. After that I focused on what I was more comfortable with….prose

      • I hear you. Count me in for the bad poetry comp. But your prose is so beautiful, Junebugger, it doesn’t really matter anyway. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I just popped over to your site and discovered your beautiful post on helping a friend through her heartbreak. It made me smile at the synchronicity.

  6. Lua

    I agree with you Lisa- when my heart is breaking, when I feel lost, alone or stuck with a problem, I write. Writing is pretty much the only thing I know how to do so I don’t have much of a choice either…
    I envy those poets, I love poetry but I could never write it myself. I’ll just stick to what I do best; telling stories πŸ™‚

  7. Writing is like magic when it comes to expressing vivid emotions. I like to free write…just sit down and write down whatever thoughts come, no matter how silly of incoherent. I always feel such a relief and calm afterwards.

  8. Writing poetry can be really cathartic. Just let yourself feel and let it flow to your fingertips onto the paper…there is no right or wrong in writing it. I know you can do it!

    • Oh, Suzicate, what a honey you are. Thanks for the encouragement. I might try dabbling a little. Although I wouldn’t feel brave enough to show anyone! I suspect you are either born a poet, or not. And I’m in the “not” category. πŸ™‚
      x Lisa

  9. Lisa!
    How did it go today?
    Am so sorry I couldn’t make it – all thanks to the birthday hangover πŸ˜‰ you will come to know about it soon – but all things apart, I’m pretty excited to know about the launch at Yarra’s?

    • I know all about birthday hangovers. Not good. And did you vow to never ever drink that much again? Reckon you’ll stick to it? :-}
      I indulged in my other addiction; coffee. And was surrounded my the most wonderful people. Readers. You can’t beat books and readers. Although red wine and writers is a pretty good combo too!
      Gregory Day is doing a talk at Readings on Friday night 6pm in Hawthorn (your neck of the woods I believe} perhaps I’ll see you there…?

      • Lol, you know well πŸ˜‰
        Great, and yes, no addiction can beat them! Oh that’s a juicy tidbit you’ve let out now, I’ll check out their website in a jiffy.

        -BrownEyed

  10. I agree, writing can be extremely therapeutic – even when it’s not poetry. Although, since I’m a bad poet myself even when I try, I know what you mean about envying them.

  11. “It’s healthier than drinking. It’s cheaper than therapy.”

    Ha. That’s so true. You’re funny milkfever. You are also poetic. I believe prose can be poetic, not in the way poetry can be, but still.

    You should write poetry anyway. Not for anyone but yourself. No one needs to see it, and it can be as bad and as simple as you want. Just like “ow,” that’s poetry. Who says it isn’t? There is no authority. You are the authority.

    Write your guts out! I write poetry to help me with a broken heart but also it’s good word exercise. Helps me bring some poetic feeling to my prose if it ever needs it.

    • Ollin, has anyone ever told you how smart you are? I’m guessing, yes, and frequently. I sometimes wonder if all we need is permission to write.
      “There is no authority. You are the authority.” You are right. Although perhaps I’m too harsh an authority?
      And you’re right about poetry helping with prose too. Yes, some of my favourite writing has a musical poetry to it.
      I will take your advice and write my guts out. What do I have to lose?

      • Thank you milkfever! Yes people have told me I am smart, but it’s good to be reminded every once in a while. But I have to admit my intelligence is selective. When it comes to directions for instance I’m a complete idiot, oh an finances, god help me! πŸ˜‰

      • Really? Aren’t all guys good at directions? You’re probably just saying that to be humble, aren’t you? I bet you’re a champion at directions too.
        πŸ™‚

  12. poems
    from in your heart to out
    dont have to make them wrime
    just write, don’t make them
    out of your heart
    poer out your heart

    (And if you make them cryptic enough, people will “try to find meaning in them,” a.k.a. put their own meaning on them. Then they’ll think you’re a genius.)

    Yah. πŸ˜€

  13. I wrote a lot of poetry when my father died recently – not as a means to ‘sell’, but to release it.

    These days I’m more into fiction.

    I think (for me) there comes a time when writing it only imprints it in the memory. I like to set aside the pain sometimes, and write the joy.

    Best to you, Lisa.

    – Corra

    The Victorian Heroine

    • I’m really sorry to hear about your dad, Corra. Ultimately, the pain needs to be set aside, doesn’t it? You’re right. We can only handle so much of it at a time. And then we need to “write the joy” again.
      Hope your heart is mending.
      X Lisa

Leave a Reply

