Why we love pink

Some of you are perhaps thinking that you don’t actually like pink. That’s okay. Bear with me.

Pink is a colour that does no harm. It is innocent, hence the connection with babies (baby girls, at least).  It tries to please. No one wearing a pink top in a department store is going to be rude to you. The nice shop assistant wearing a ruffled pink dress will not pretend she is busy trying to look up something important on the computer screen. She will just stop what she’s doing, smile, and say, “How may I help you?’

If everyone in the army wore pink there would be no wars. Seriously, it’s that horrible, murky green colour that’s causing all the problems, or that dirty sandy colour. Any colour that is designed to fade into the background is obviously asking for trouble. But pink? Pink wants peace. Pink yearns for peace.

If the other side (the so-called enemy) ran out of bullets, a person wearing pink pants would offer some of their ammunition – only fair – and then the guy on the other side, wearing a little pink jacket would offer the first guy one of his sandwiches. And they’d realise that they actually have a lot in common; they both love soccer, have kids the same age, miss their wives desperately. And they’d have a laugh, introduce all the other guys to each other. Drink some pink cordial tasting of rose petals. And go home.

Pink cheers you up when you’re feeling down. Pink roses smells sweeter than any other rose, kind of like Turkish delight. Pink champagne makes you giggle – seriously. Brave men wear pink. Kind women wear pink. Babies love pink.

All I’m saying is, “Give pink a chance.”

And while we’re on the topic of pink, that lovely Ollin Morales has given me an award, which is delightfully pink and made me happy, happy, happy.

There are pink rules involved which are as follows:

1) Thank and link back to the person who gave you this award. [Thank you Ollin!!!!!]
2) Share 7 things about yourself. [I’ve already done this, you can check my earlier post Write what you know (unlike the clever Ollin, I don’t know how to link to my articles – sorry!]
3) Pass the award along to 6* bloggers who you have recently discovered and who you think are fantastic for whatever reason! (*Changed from 15 to 6, because 6 is my favourite number.)
4) Contact the bloggers you’ve picked and let them know about the award.

Okay, so the bloggers I’d like to nominate are:

1. JPcabit, This blogger can write prose and poetry (both good and bad) and is currently sovereign minister of international affairs. And writes shiveringly beautiful stuff on wolves and wilderness.

2. Smander Who thinks she’s terrible at poetry but is really very talented at it.

3. Brownpaperbaggirl Has a natural warmth that shines through the page. The kind of blog that lifts your spirits.

4. Somethingtolearn In search of meaning and bliss. An inspirational place to visit.

5. Shylockbooks Some great clips (check out the JK Rowlings interview, Ollin), articles, interviews! and giveaways all done with elegance. And also the lass to crack the mystery editor mystery!! How smart was that.

6. Kavita For being the mistress of beautiful poetry, and yet remain humble and helpful and encouraging of my woeful words.

6. HemaP For interesting posts, for stunning pictures, for loving burnt sienna, and pink.

There are so many other beautiful blogs that deserve the Lovely Award, but I tried to chose blogs that didn’t have a hundred awards already.

You’re all lovely.

X Lisa

55 Comments

Filed under authors, blogging, books, life, writers, Writing

55 responses to “Why we love pink

  1. **GAAAASP** Oh Lisa, I am ELATED!!!!!!!

    This is my first blog award ever. I am so thrilled that you picked me (and as #1 too!). *Tear* And yes, I will forgive you for implying that I write good poetry (The nerve, can you imagine!).

    Now the trick will be trying to find six bloggers to pass this on to as well…which just may be all my followers, lol 🙂

  2. Pink is beautiful. It’s my favourite colou, actually. Yur blog is simpy lovely, Lisa.

    Thank you for your kind words. You absolutely made my day! 🙂

  3. Whoooaaa!!! That came as a total surprise!!! And a very pleasant one at that! I am:
    a. Thrilled
    b. Excited
    c. Honored
    d. All of the above
    My answer is d. 🙂
    Gee…thank you so much for this ABSOLUTELY LOVELY pink award!!!
    OMG!!! “mistress of beautiful poetry”!!!!! Girl, I bow to you!!! Whatever made you say this about me, I really wonder!!!
    I can go on and on here… but WordPress may end up banning me from sending comments altogether! So, I had better stop RIGHT HERE, and thank you once again, and get to nominating my 6 newfound bloggers!
    Mwah Mwah to you!!! (hugs) 🙂

  4. In all the award excitement, I forgot to tell you how CUTE your post is!!! I love the examples you’ve stated her… soldiers in pink uniforms!! WOW… 🙂
    You rock, girl!! Go Pink!!!!

  5. Some great choices Lisa! Looking forward to reading another six new yummy blogs (like I don’t have anything else to do with my time… dammit Life…. stay still for just a second so Ruby can read some blogs!)

    • Ruby, we obviously share an addiction here – blogging!
      Have fun kiddo. There are worse things to do in life than read blogs.

      • What? Blogging is an addiction? I thought that was the definition of blogging—”A neurosis in which one can’t stop posting on and reading online journals.”

      • What a crack up!! you’re spot on with that definition. I don’t feel quite so compulsive now. What I’m experiencing is obviously normal and natural. Phew.

  6. Lua

    Haha Lisa I don’t like pink- but I definitely see your point and I agree that pink deserves a chance!
    Congratulations on your lovely award 🙂

  7. Congratulations on the award! You deserve it :).

    I’ve always associated pink with mean girls, though :(.

  8. lol. i like your logic.
    I’ll remember to approach pink lady next time i’m in a department store

  9. Okay, I’m a pink convert now, Lisa. I like orange (more burnt Sienna) and spring-green a lot, but the next time I’m out shopping, I’m looking for a frilly pink blouse :). You painted such a sweet portrait of soldiers on opposite sides sharing things other than bullets to each others’ chests (I could actually see them slapping each other on the backs), that it could be no other way.

    Congratulations on the award — very well deserved!

  10. Awww, thanks Lisa! This is my first ever award(Besides third place in a costume contest)! Your post is so very true to what I believe in. Peace, love. No war, no hate. And WAY more John Lennon. Thank you again!

  11. Pingback: Pinked up!! « How I write, is mine…How you read, is yours

  12. *GRIN* Thank you for my award! I am so excited! This is my first blogging award and it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy like pink mittens and fluffy wabbits! I love pink! What’s that quote from Greese? “She looks too pure to be pink!” THANKS AGAIN!!!!

  13. As always milkfever, lovely article on the color pink! Only you could teach us how to appreciate the incredibly revolutionary powers of a not-so-primary color.

    If you want to link to an article in your post, simply click on the post you want to link to, copy the link, then when you are creating your new post, you press the button on the toolbar with the picture of the little chains (get it, “link” haha, cute isn’t it?) and then paste the link to your old post in the little box they provide. It’s pretty straight forward from there.

    You’re welcome for the award, well deserved! 🙂

  14. Pingback: The Writing Bug « Wading Through Words

  15. I’ve always had this repulsion for the color pink. But, reading your post, you just might have converted me into a pink-lover…

  16. Lisa, you have an award waiting for you in my post titled “The Writing Bug”. 🙂

  17. Thanks so much for the ‘Pink’ award! I am thinking that someone needs to create an ‘almost better than chocolate’ award… I’d make one, but really not one hot clue as to how to do that…

    : )

    • You’re right. Someone definitely needs to do an ‘almost better than chocolate’ award. Any takers…?
      I had enough trouble posting the awards on my front page, and despite my best efforts some of them still don’t have the thank you note that I attached on there. So, sadly, Im not the right person to do it.

  18. Ahem, I can’t say I’d wear pink pants on any day, but you have really cracked my ribs with effects pink would have on Army Men & Women on a battle field, the imagination of it just sent me rolling on the ground laughing my head off. I guess you are right though, I think the colors we wear affect our state of mind somehow….

    “…….If everyone in the army wore pink there would be no wars. Seriously, it’s that horrible, murky green colour that’s causing all the problems, or that dirty sandy colour. Any colour that is designed to fade into the background is obviously asking for trouble. But pink? Pink wants peace. Pink yearns for peace.

    If the other side (the so-called enemy) ran out of bullets, a person wearing pink pants would offer some of their ammunition – only fair – and then the guy on the other side, wearing a little pink jacket would offer the first guy one of his sandwiches. And they’d realise that they actually have a lot in common; they both love soccer, have kids the same age, miss their wives desperately. And they’d have a laugh, introduce all the other guys to each other. Drink some pink cordial tasting of rose petals. And go home……” – You have practically killed me with laughters, great imagination. Thank you very much, like I’ve always said, you bring some sunshine in my dark life. Thanks you.

    • The thought that I can put a little sunshine in your life makes me happy. And may I suggest pink underwear? No one needs to know you’re wearing it, except you. It always cheers me up.

Leave a Reply

