What is the most ridiculous number?

Answer: your age. Seriously, how many decisions do you make with that number echoing inside your head? Too old to take up an instrument? Or study? Or have a change of career? Too young to marry? Or settle down?

Once you hit 18 it’s time to throw that number away. Once you hit 18 you’re a grown up and your life is your own.

Change career. Move. Study medicine. Or archaeology. Write a book. Paint. Travel. Take up violin. Fall in love. Learn to ski/tango/meditate/fly/sing.

Do whatever you passionately want to do. Forget your age. It’s just a very silly number. A ridiculous number. An excuse.

There are no limits to who you can be unless you make it so.

59 Comments

Filed under art, authors, blogging, life, love, opportunity for writers, philosophy, poetry, silly challenges, tips for writers, weird stuff

59 responses to “What is the most ridiculous number?

  1. And that was for me too baby!!! Age has nothing to do with it…in my mind….age is but a number!!!! Whoohoooo…loved this so much!!! Sending you love xxx

  2. I frequently forget my age – but that’s probably because I frequently forget what year it is. Not a great habit but I just can’t see the point in keeping track.

  3. Hmm.. age.. what’s that? πŸ™‚ Had forgotten about it a few years back when I hit 21… heheh… and now, it’s just good times! Doing what I wanna, what I love to!

    I love Math…but age does figure in there πŸ™‚

    Lovely post, Lisa… a lesson to all! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Kavita. I am in awe; you love math. Wow, I wish I loved math. Perhaps if I could do math, apart from add together numbers below 10, I might enjoy it more. But I find there’s usually some smart math person such as yourself around to help me with the bigger sums. πŸ™‚

  4. I don’t measure my life with age/years but with achievements, knowledge and experiences.

    I will only declare myself old if I have finally gone to Brazil, Jamaica, Italy, France, Panama, New York, Dubai, Mauritius, Hvar.
    I will only come of age if I own those cars, have married that girl, got those kids, run that business, own that property.
    I cannot say I am too old until i have climbed Mountain Rwenzori, gone Gorilla tracking, attended that concert.

    I am not too young to do any of these things and yet I will never feel old enough until I have done them, If I fail then I’ll die forever young.

    Much Love.

    PS.
    I am sorry I always look like I have a lot to say and crowding your sweet looking blog with elongated comments and unending PS’s like this one… πŸ™‚

    • I love that list. That is an awesome list. And yes, you’ll never be too old to do any of them.
      Also please don’t apologise for lengthy comments. They’re my favourite kind.
      It’s good to have you here.
      ps. I mean really.
      pps. Truly.
      pps. Absolutely.

  5. junebugger

    “Once you hit 18 it’s time to throw that number away.” I chuckled here. It’s so true to many. For me, however, I seem to be stuck in neverland. Maybe it’s because I’m so long in my writing world that the reality of my age (21) never really struck me. When I moved from 18 to 19, 19 to 20, 20 to 21…I never counted away. When someone asks me my age, I sometimes hesitate, because I forget how exactly old I am–Am I 18? or 19? oh yah, I’m 21!

  6. Found that the number (age) was not a big deal when I did my challenging bike rides and 10km runs.

    I constantly test myself to show that I’m still young enough (although I have failed with bad consequences)

    Good post Lisa, to remind us of our dreams pushed off by age. Of course, you actually proved that passion and dreams can be realized anytime.

    Oh BTW the second part of my Himalayan Bike ride is out. Hope you will enjoy it. Thanks for everything.

  7. So true! The older people I meet who seem young at heart, all have one thing in common – they keep pushing their comfort zones. I think the key to feeling young is not to get stuck in a rut – thanks for reminding me! πŸ™‚

  8. I agree! Age is such a ridiculous thing to prevent someone from pursuing dreams and truly living.

  9. Very true. Thanks for sharing the lovely poem. πŸ™‚

    • Um what poem? πŸ˜•

      • I just had a very strange Matrix moment. Bloody hell, I have no idea what poem I was referring to.
        I know it was a pretty stressful day. But, God, not that stressful.
        Ah, I know now, I meant “post”. Sometimes my fingers just assume they know what my mind wants to express. Clearly they got it wrong that time.
        Thanks for being on the ball, jp.
        [note to self: must watch typing more closely from now on.]

  10. I’m turning 27 in a few months, if I don’t tell people my age they’d never guess it. I remember some of my peers as soon as they turned 18 they felt the need to change–more make up, higher heels, and skirts. I couldn’t get it. It’s a number. It doesn’t reflect anything, just maybe the length of time you’ve lived on this earth. It’s not something that should stop as from pursuing a dream or from playing in the rain. πŸ™‚

  11. I constantly forget my age; all I remember is “thirty-something” πŸ™‚

    I keep track of the things that matter, though (like my kids’ favorite colors, friends’ birthdays, anniversaries, etc.)

  12. Lua

    I was never good with numbers Lisa- age? What age? πŸ™‚
    “There are no limits to who you can be unless you make it so.”
    Amen!

  13. The most ridiculous number? How about pi? What kind of number is THAT? And who took the time to discover it?

  14. Here here! Age is but a state of mind… and I have to say that after 30 I pretty much had to stop and do the math when someone asked my age. It is just not that important anymore. Yay!

  15. AWESOME! Thank you, seriously. I loved this post, and it was SO something I needed to hear right now!!!

  16. Oh here’s another thought. Try telling people you’re 95. I’m not, but it’s really fun to see people’s faces when you say it.

    • I know what you mean. I went through a phase of giving a different number every time I was asked. I tried to push it a bit to see reactions. Never got as far as 95 though. I shall give it a try next time someone asks me. πŸ™‚

  17. You are never too old or too young to do anything. Live boldly and without regrets! πŸ™‚

  18. Some cliches are cliches because they are so true, right? Thanks for reminding us to enjoy each day as it comes! πŸ™‚

  19. Right, right as always! You know its funny, I’m ALWAYS reminded by people of my age. Why? Because I look about 7 years younger than my age. So people constantly treat me or think that I am 17, and I always have to remind them that I am actually 24. I try my best to be happy that I look young for my age, when everyone else is terrified of looking old, but what can you do when so much is dependent on that number!

    But you’re right. It’s just a number. I need to get past it, and thanks to your blog post I certainly will. Well said!

  20. Such a lovely thought! (And, a post I needed today.) Maybe, I’ll actually be able to incorporate it into my life. Until then, sometimes my birthdays are just like another deadline…

  21. Arg. I saw a girl I went to school with recently and the first things I thought was, ‘wow she looks old! Which means….I probably look old. We’re getting old!’ It took a few moments and a few deep breaths before this fact stopped bothering me (as much). Getting old is still something I think about but instead of stopping me I use it as motivation. The Bucket List, a movie I saw recently, is also inspiring in this way…

  22. Ah, thank you. I used to pride myself in not being like people I knew who got hung up on age, until…I became the age when people I knew started to get hung up on age. Just in terms of the biological aspirations, though–a.k.a., starting a family. I’m luckily well beyond thinking age could prevent me from doing anything else I set my sights on, and it sure as heck isn’t helping me grow up at all πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

