Scaredy cat parent

Once upon a time, I used to be fearless. If someone warned me about riding a particular horse, because it was bad-tempered, hadn’t been ridden for years, and had already broken someone’s collar-bone, I’d feel compelled to get on its back  (with owner’s permission, of course}. I rarely felt any fear for my own safety. I’d happily go alone into dangerous parts of cities, I’d talk to strangers, and far worse. I was willing to take a risk because I felt protected by some force greater than myself.

Until I got pregnant.

Everything changed after that. I became chicken. I became cautious and sensible, and well… boring. Someone needed me. They needed me to be healthy and present and reliable. And so I stopped taking risks. I pulled in the edges of my comfort zone and settled in for the long haul. My plan was to wait until my son celebrated his 21st birthday, and then I’d be fearless again.

But I won a trip to Vietnam recently. Before my son turned 21. In fact, I’m heading off next Friday. He’s not even a teenager yet. What if something happens to me? What if I forget to look both ways? Or eat something lethal? Or….? Or….? Or the plane crashes? What will my son do without his mum?

I’m excited and scared. I’m sure the same forces that protected me before child, will look after me now. Perhaps I’ll learn to be brave and sensible at the same time. I wonder if that’s possible?

Anyone been to Vietnam? Any tips on crossing the roads? Perhaps I’ll just stick to one side…

Who feels brave? Who feels like a scaredy cat?

24 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

24 responses to “Scaredy cat parent

  1. I am happy and sorta proud of you for taking such a call. Happy journey and do tell us your adventures once you’re back, Lisa!

    Btw, you don’t seem to be around much, lately–I missed ya! 🙂

    -BrownEyed

  2. Are you serious woman?

    Have a tall glass of toughen the fuck up (can I say fuck on here?)

    Don’t you think that it would be better to instill a sense of confidence and courage in your little man by leading by example rather than being a great big scaredy cat and over-worrier?

    Show him that it’s okay to be brave.

    **Am I SERIOUS with all this advice and telling off stuff when I a) have never even spoken to a child, let alone had one b) can’t get my own shit together c) too scared to go to the gym, let alone go OS.
    Sigh. *rolls eyes at Ruby.

    x

    • Sweetie, normally that word is not used on my squeaky clean blog, but for you I’ll make an exception.
      Yes, yes, I know you’re right. But it’s easier said than done, trust me.
      And as for giving me advice when you haven’t personally experienced what I’m going through, well that is what advice is all about. Non-parents always know more about kids than parents, until they have one (a kid, that is}.
      But let us remember, Rubes, you do have a special angelic connection so I will assume that the last bit of advice was channeled anyway.
      X Lisa

  3. Woohoo! Throw caution to the wind and have an amazing time!

  4. Agatha82

    Have fun, you’ll be fine. I am not a mum, but I can certainly understand why you think the way you do. Never been to Vietnam. I’m one of those boring travellers who has never travelled to an exotic places, they do not appeal to me. Anyway, have a lovely time and be sure to tell us all about it when you return 🙂

  5. I know exactly how you feel, and it makes me excited and scared for you. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy (and be safe!)

  6. Vietnam! How exciting! Have fun. 🙂

  7. Wow. I just posted this http://keshavnarla.wordpress.com/2010/10/22/life-rules-100-people/

    and came here…

    coincidence?

    You are not fearful, you are more careful. Crash landing from my bike was part of life when I was in college.

    It’s less frequent now 😉

  8. I’m definitely in the scaredy cat camp! Sad to say, I resided there long before I had children, so I can’t use them as an excuse.

    Don’t worry so much and enjoy the opportunity 🙂

  9. Throw off the bowlines.
    Sail away from safe harbors.
    Catch the tradewinds in your sails.

    Explore. Dream. Discover.

    This message brought to you courtesy of Mark Twain. 🙂

  10. I know that feeling but let your hair lose in the wind, you will love the place…very busy and don’t buy anything on first sight…so a bit of batering first. I hope you have a fabulous time girlfriend, all will be well…you’ll see…many hugs xxx

  11. You won a trip? How exciting! Just think, Vietnam might be the inspiration for another book. 🙂

  12. Lol, i’m sure that you’ll be fine

Leave a Reply

